Love is in the Air

Valentine’s day is less than a week away so it seems only right that I should recommend some of my favourite romantic reads. If, like me, you are not big fan of valentine’s day and plan to spend the day eating junk food and binge watching Friends, don’t worry, I’ve purposely chosen books which are not all about love. All of these books feature well-rounded characters with interesting lives and stories. Hopefully, there’s something for everyone!

  1. Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding

I can hardly talk about love stories without mentioning Bridget Jones! This book is a modern classic and makes me laugh each time I read it or watch the film. As well as having all the makings of a brilliant rom com, this book is also very real, which is often not the case in fictional love stories. It was one of the first books I read with a very real, imperfect female character and that was something I really appreciated.

  1. The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

I mentioned this book in my January wrap up but it is the perfect addition to this list. Whilst the main plot of this novel is focused on attitudes to literature and stories, there are also a couple of very sweet love stories thrown in. If, like me, you are a fan of slow burning romances, you will love this book! My only criticism would be that although there is an LGBT couple, they do not get as much attention as the straight couples.

  1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

This is one of my favourite YA books. This book is predominantly about Cath, aspiring writer who has just moved to college and is trying to navigate the world on her own for the first time, with a lovely romance that blooms along the way. It’s a story about family, friendship, growing up and fanfiction. If you enjoyed this book, I’d also recommend ‘Carry On’ by Rainbow Rowell, which is the full-length story of the fanfiction Cath writes which we get snippets of throughout Fangirl.

  1. Sofia Khan is Not Obliged by Ayisha Malik

This book has been described as ‘a Muslim Bridget Jones’. Whilst I agree with that comparison I would even go as far to say I liked it better than Bridget Jones! Before this book, I had never come across a book that featured a Muslim woman as it’s protagonist. Whilst the story of this book is largely centred around dating and relationships, it is also a story about religion, friendship and balancing all of these things with a successful career.

 

Leave a Reply

