April Wrap – Up

Over the past month, I’ve really felt myself picking up the reading pace. It’s good to gain a bit of momentum after a couple of slower months. Although, I need to keep reminding myself that reading is about enjoyment, not keeping a tally.

1. Chocolat by Joanne Harris

This definitely one of the most beautifully written books I’ve read this year, if not ever. Harris’ use of language is captivating, however, the way religion is used and portrayed throughout the novel made me uncomfortable. Throughout the novel, it was made very clear that religion = bad and atheism = good. That’s not to say all religious¬†people are perfect but the distinction between the characters and their roles was very black and white.

 

IMG_2612
The first few weeks of April were so warm, I spent so much time reading in my back garden!

 

2. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

My favourite read of the month and certainly my favourite YA book for a long time. Read my full review here.

3. The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide

If I’m being honest with you, I picked this book up because it had a cat on the front cover. I know, that’s not the best way to choose which book to read next but I have a great love for cats and just couldn’t help myself. However, this book didn’t live up to my excitement. The novel has been translated from Japenese so there’s a good chance the author’s intention was lost in translation. Or maybe, this just isn’t the book for me. Either way, I ended up marking it as DNF…

 

What have you been reading this month? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

