Blood Sisters by Jane Corry | Review

*Trigger Warning: This book includes scenes of self-harm and rape.*

There is nothing more exciting to me than getting stuck into a mystery or a thriller. So, when I read the description of ‘Blood Sisters ‘ by Jane Corry about two sisters, fifteen years on from a horrific accident who are being watched and followed by somebody who is desperate for revenge, I HAD to read it.

The story is split between the perspectives of two sisters, Alison and Kitty. Even before knowing all the details of the accident, it is clear that both women have been deeply affected by it. Kitty suffered severe brain damage and is unable to walk and struggles to communicate as a result. Corry was very respectful in her depiction of Kitty and effectively portrayed the character’s frustration at being unable to communicate what she was thinking to those around her. Corry also did a brilliant job at portraying the way people with disabilities are treated so poorly by society. From relatively minor things such as using a patronising tone to bigger issues such as not trusting people with disabilities to care for children.

Unlike thrillers I have read in the past, ‘Blood Sister’s starts off slowly, very slowly. In fact, it wasn’t until I was over halfway through the book that I felt things were beginning to pick up. I know even thrillers can’t be fast paced all the time and, sometimes, a slower narrative is key to building tension, but in this case, the pacing of the story was unnecessarily slow at times.

To me, neither of the girls were very likeable. Alison in particular, I struggled to empathise with from the very beginning and couldn’t understand a lot of the decisions she made. Whilst I don’t know if this was Corry’s intention, it made certain revelations about Alison and her involvement in the story far less shocking for me personally. Having said that, one of my favourite things about the story was the ambiguity between which sister was ‘good’ and ‘bad’. I think my dislike for both girls really helped play into that.

Some details of the story felt a little inaccurate. Often when reading fiction, I’m able to suspend a certain amount of disbelief (it is made up, after all!) however, some of these things were founded in reality and were so integral to the plot that I found it difficult to overlook. For example, I didn’t understand why prisoners who were clearly very dangerous were being held in an open (and seemingly minimum security) prison. Granted, I’m no expert in the criminal system, so if I am being unfairly critical, please correct me!

It was completely by chance that I stumbled upon this book so I’d not heard of Jane Corry before. After doing a bit of research, I am curious to read her other book ‘My Husband’s Wife’ as I’ve heard brilliant things about it.

Have you read ‘Blood Sisters’? Let me know what you thought in the comments!

*An early copy of this book was sent to me by the publisher via NetGalley, however, all opinions are my own and I am not being paid for this review*

 

Leave a Reply

