That’s a Wrap!

Usually, on the first Wednesday of the month, I would be posting my monthly wrap up of all the books I read in May. However, I have decided to stop this style of post as I have noticed it was having a negative effect on my reading.

Wrap-ups are a great way to track your reading progress as well as being a quick and concise way to share recommendations. Often a review of only a couple of sentences is enough to have me itching to pick up a copy of the book for myself. Many of the books on my ever-growing TBR list came from the snippets of reviews I  have read in wrap up posts.

Despite this, after a few months of regular wrap up posts, I was beginning to feel an increasing pressure to read more just so I could show off on my blog at the end of the month. This completely defeats the purpose of reading and was starting to turn a hobby into a chore. If the end of the month came around and I hadn’t read what I deemed to be ‘enough’ books, I would scramble to find the shortest book for me to skim read just so I could add it to my total. Each month, I started my wrap up with an excuse as to why I didn’t read more, even though, this is my blog and I don’t have to make apologies or excuses for reading too little or too much.

One of my reading resolutions was not to get so bogged down in numbers and keeping a tally of the books I’ve read. When I start my degree in September I will have considerably less time to read what I want, when I want so I’m trying to make the most of this pressure free reading time.

So, instead of wrapping up everything I’ve read each month, I’ll be tweeting about my favourite book of the month, you can follow my twitter account here.

What are your thoughts on wrap-up posts? Do you enjoy them or do you find the pressure is just too much? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

