Changing Minds

A few weeks ago, I posted a review of ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon. In it, I said it was one of my favourite YA books I’d read in a long time. I also expressed a slight discomfort with the handling of disability/chronic illness at the end of the novel but was willing to look past it because I loved the rest of the book so much. However, over the last few weeks, the more thought I’ve put into it, the more upset I’ve become with the portrayal of disability. This left me with a dilemma. Do I delete the original post and reupload an updated version? Do I post my new thoughts but keep the original one on my blog?

On the one hand, that review was an honest one and I don’t want to delete it just because I’ve changed my mind about it. On the other hand, however, the issue that I’ve changed my mind about, the representation of disability, is one that I’m extremely passionate about. I’m always trying to stress the importance of good representation particularly of people with disabilities. For me, it would go against a really important belief of mine if I didn’t address the issue I had with that particular novel.

We all change our minds, it’s a part of life and there is nothing wrong with it. I’m well aware that after some time, I may begin to disagree with some of my own opinions of certain books. So how do we deal with this? To me, if it’s a simple matter of a change of taste, there’s no problem with leaving the review up. What I’m struggling with at the moment is that my change of mind happened so quickly and so strongly that it would feel like I was lying if I didn’t rectify it in some way.

Maybe this is just a side-effect of settling into the world of book blogging. This blog is still in its early days so I’m constantly coming across little road blocks that make me rethink what I post and talk about on my little corner of the internet. That will always be the case. I’d interested to hear how others deal with this particular dilemma.

How do you feel about changing your mind about reviews? Maybe you’re a book blogger and you’ve come across this situation before, or perhaps you’re a reader and you’d be interested to read an updated review. Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

