Write with Me #2 | Inspiration and Motivation

Inspiration can hit at any moment, at work or in the middle of the night. It can come from the strangest places. For example, I got the inspiration for the novel I’m currently working on whilst I was watching Into the Woods, the link between that film and my idea is fairly tenuous, (there is one scene in my novel that takes place in a forest) so I’m not sure why the idea came to me at that time! Most of my inspiration comes from things that happen in my life. Sometimes it comes from watching films or listening to music and sometimes it can come for no reason. Or, sometimes it doesn’t come at all. My best advice is not to ignore inspiration when it comes to you, especially if, like me, you have many long periods of time when you have absolutely no inspiration.
After many occasions where I’ve been struck with a really good idea only to forget it when I sit down to write, I’ve gotten into the habit of carrying a notebook around in my bag so I can jot down any ideas that come to me throughout the day. I also use the notes app on my phone – there are some late night thoughts that would need an Enigma machine to decode them!

As for motivation, this is where I struggle. A lot. No matter how much I want to be a published author, I struggle to motivate myself to actually sit down at the computer. A lot of this depends on the strength of my idea. If I’m not that invested in the story, I won’t want to write it. That being said, I’m a master at procrastination and even if I have the best idea in the world, there will still be times when I want to do anything but write. Really, the only way I have to combat this is to keep telling myself that I’ll never be an author if I don’t actually write a book. I’m also trying to write (at least) 200 words every day. My hope is that if I make it a part of my daily routine, it will be easier to write even when I don’t want to.

Where do you get your inspiration and motivation from? What do you do when you don’t have any of either? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

