The ‘Mid-Year Book Freakout’ Tag

How are we already well over halfway through 2017?! This is one of those times I wish I had a magic watch that could pause time but that’s another story for another time… To celebrate this terrifying milestone, I’ve been scouring my GoodReads account to try and answer these questions (note to self: you’re 2 books behind your 50 book target, PICK UP THE PACE PLEASE ELLIE!)

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?

Straight in there with the difficult questions, I see…

My initial answer was ‘Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe’ by Benjamin Alire Sáenz*. A beautiful coming of age story about two teen boys discovering their friendship and sexuality. Whilst it is a strong contender for my favourite book so far, that title has to go to ‘All the Light We Cannot See’ by Anthony Doerr*. Partly because my premature dislike for the book made my eventual enjoyment took me by surprise but because after reading it, I felt so inspired to start writing again after struggling with writer’s block for so long. This is the book that stands out to me as being one I could read over and over again.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017?

I’ve just started reading ‘Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason’ by Helen Fielding* but have yet to finish any sequels. It’s been a long time since I sunk my teeth into a really good series so I welcome any recommendations.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to?

‘How To Stop Time’ by Matt Haigand ‘Moxie’ by Jennifer Mathieu*. Matt Haig is one of my favourite authors so I know I’m missing out by not reading his latest release and I’ve heard so much about ‘Moxie’ I’m willing to overlook my self-inflicted YA ban to read it!

4.  Biggest disappointment

It’s a tie between ‘1984’ by George Orwell* and ‘Everything Everything’ by Nicola Yoon*. Two very different books, I know but both recommended to me. I don’t want to say too much about ‘1984’ because I think it deserves a second chance, there were elements I really enjoyed. However, ‘Everything, Everything’ felt like a real let down to me because of its attitudes towards disability.

5. Biggest surprise?

Easily, ‘Yes Please’ by Amy Poehler*! I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book but I came away from it with an itching to read more autobiographies and a new found respect for that incredible woman.

6. Favourite new author (debut, or new to you)?

Megan Hunter, author of ‘The End We Start From’*. This novella is so unlike anything I have ever read before and renewed my love for dystopian fiction.

7. Newest fictional crush?

‘The Reader’s of Broken Wheel Recommend’ by Katarina Bivald* was the first book I read this year so I’d almost forgotten about my love for Tom. Yes, the love story was a little predictable and cheesy at times, but who doesn’t love a bit of cheese every now and then?

8. Newest favourite character?

Never before have I seen myself in a character so much as I did with Ari from ‘Aristotle and Dante’. He’s a brilliant example of a well rounded, imperfect yet likeable character. A lot of the traits I found myself internally screaming at him for, like the way he distances himself from people instead of talking to them about how he’s feelings are things I definitely do!

9. Book that made you cry?

I have a confession to make… books don’t make me cry… I KNOW! I consider myself a cryer but for some reason very rarely cry whilst reading a book. The only example I can think of is when I finished reading the entire ‘Harry Potter’ series for the first time.

10. Book that made you happy?

SO many! One book that filled me with joy inspired me and taught me so much was ‘Hamlet: Globe to Globe’ by Dominic Dromgoole*. I’ve reviewed this book on my blog but once again, if you have an interest in Shakespeare and theatre, please, read this book.

11. Favourite review you’ve written this year?

It’s not so much of a review but more of a critique of ‘Me Before You’ by Jojo Moyes and the representation of disability.

12. Most beautiful book you bought or received this year?

‘Swing Time’ by Zadie Smith is one of the most aesthetically pleasing books I’ve seen all year. Although, books are like babies – there’s no such thing as an ugly one!

13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

I have to read the follow up to ‘Sofia Khan is Not Obliged’, ‘The Other Half of Happiness’ by Ayisha Malik as well as Dodie Clark’s first book, ‘Secrets For the Mad’* which is coming out in November!

If you do this tag, please send me your posts! I’m looking for some more recommendations!

Leave a Reply

